Faults & General

Faults & General


A fault made by a player of the side which is "In", puts the server out; if made by a player whose side is "Out", it counts a point to the "In" side.

It is a fault:

14(a) If in serving,

14(a)(i) the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the base of the shuttle, or

14(a)(ii) any part of the shuttle at the instant of being struck be higher than the server・s waist, or14(a)(iii) if at the instant of the shuttle being struck the shaft of the racket is not pointing in a downward direction to such an extent that the whole of the head of the racket is discernibly below the whole of the server・s hand holding the racket.14(b) If, in serving, the shuttle does not pass over the net, or falls into the wrong service court (i.e., into the one not diagonally opposite to the server), or falls short of the short service line, or outside the side boundary lines of the service court into which service is in order.

14(c) If the server・s feet are not in the same service court from which the service is at the time being in order, or if the feet of the player receiving the service are not in the service court diagonally opposite until the service is delivered (vide Law 16).14(d) If, once the service has started, any player makes preliminary feints or otherwise intentionally balks his opponent, or if any player deliberately delays serving the shuttle or in getting ready to receive it so as to obtain an unfair advantage. (When the server and receiver have taken up their respective positions to serve and to receive, the first forward movement of the server・s racket constitutes the start of the service and such must be continuous thereafter).14(e) If, either in service or play, the shuttle falls outside the boundaries of the court, or passes through or under the net, or fails to pass the net, or touches the roof or side walls, or the person or dress of a player. (A shuttle falling on a line shall be deemed to have fallen in the court or service court of which such line is a boundary).

14(f) If, when in play, the initial point of contact with the shuttle is not on the striker・s side of the net. (The striker may, however, follow the shuttle over the net with his racket in the course of a stroke).14(g) If, when the shuttle is "in play", a player touches the net or its supports with racket, person or dress.

14(h) If the shuttle be caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke; or if the shuttle be hit twice in succession by the same player with two strokes; or if the shuttle be hit by a player and his partner successively.

14(i) If, in play, a player strikes the shuttle (unless he thereby makes a good return) or is struck by it, whether he is standing within or outside the boundaries of the court.

14(j) If a player obstructs an opponent.

14(k) If Law 16 be transgressed.

14(l) If a player is guilty of flagrant repeated or persistent offences under Law 21.

14(m) If the server, in attempting to serve, misses the shuttle.

Go To Top



The server may not serve till his opponent is ready, but the opponent shall be deemed to be ready if a return of the service be attempted.


The server and the player served to must stand within the limits of their respective service courts (as bounded by the short and long service, the centre, and the side lines), and some part of both feet of these players must remain in contact with the surface of the court in a stationary position until the service is delivered. A foot on or touching a line in the case of either the server or the receiver shall be held to be outside his service court (vide Law 14(c)). The respective partners may take up any position, provided they do not unsight or otherwise obstruct an opponent.


17(a) If, in the course of service or rally, the shuttle touches and passes over the net, the stroke is not invalidated thereby. It is a good return if the shuttle having passed outside either post drops on or within the boundary lines of the opposite court. A "Let" may be given by the umpire for any unforeseen or accidental hindrance.

17(b) If, in service, or during a rally, a shuttle, after passing over the net, is caught in or on the net, it is a "Let".

17(c) If the receiver is faulted for moving before the service is delivered, or for not being within the correct service court, in accordance with Laws 14(c) or 16, and at the same time the server is also faulted for a service infringement, it shall be a "Let".

17(d) When a "Let" occurs, the play since the last service shall not count, and the player who served shall serve again, except when Law 12 is applicable.


If, when in play, the shuttle strikes the net and remains suspended there, or strikes the net and falls towards the surface of the court on the striker・s side of the net, or hits the surface outside the court and an opponent then touches the net or shuttle with his racket or person, there is no penalty, as the shuttle is not then in play.19.

If a player has a chance of striking the shuttle in a downward direction when quite near the net, his opponent must not put up his racket near the net on the chance of the shuttle rebounding from it. This is obstruction within the meaning of Law 14(j).

A player may, however, hold up his racket to protect his face from being hit if he does not thereby balk his opponent.


It shall be the duty of the umpire to call "fault" or "let" should either occur, without appeal being made by the players, and to give his decision on any appeal regarding a point in dispute, if made before the next service; and also to appoint linesmen or service judge at his discretion. The umpire・s decision shall be final, but he shall uphold the decision of a linesman or service judge. This shall not preclude the umpire also from faulting the server or receiver. Where, however, a referee is appointed, an appeal shall lie to him from the decision of an umpire on questions of law only.Go To Top